Tag Archives: STEM Events

NSF Sponsors Community College Innovation Challenge

0

Laboratory studentsTeams of community college students with a faculty mentor and a community or industry partner are encouraged to submit their proposals for innovative STEM-based solutions to real-world problems within one of the following themes: Bid Data, Infrastructure Security, Sustainability (including water, food, energy, environment), Broadening Participation in STEM, and Improving STEM Education. This challenge furthers NSF’s mission by encouraging students to discover and demonstrate their capacity to use science to make a difference in the world and to transfer knowledge into action.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) recognizes the important role community colleges play in workforce development and the future of science research in the United States. Community colleges are a vital part of the scientific research pipeline, training technicians who become an integral part of research efforts and students who go on to continue their education at four-year institutions, especially in underrepresented groups.

Up to 10 finalist teams (2 from each theme) will be invited to attend the Innovation Boot Camp, a professional development workshop on innovation and entrepreneurship. Each team will receive $500 to further refine their idea and compete in the final round of competition. Travel, room and board costs associated with attending the Innovation Boot Camp will be paid for team members and faculty mentors.

Each member student of the first-place team will receive $3,000. Each student member of the second-place team will receive $2,000. Each student member of the third-place team will receive $1,000.

Submissions must be received between Sept 15, 2014 and Jan 15, 2015.

For more information or to enter, visit the NSF Community College Innovation Challenge.

STEM Events for Week of May 19, 2014

0

STEM-calendarSTEM events for Women happening this week of May 19, 2014…

Saturday May 17  – Tuesday May 20

Monday May 19

Monday May 19 – Wednesday May 21

Wednesday May 21

Wednesday May 21 – Saturday May 24

Have a STEM event you’d like us to feature?  Please submit it.

STEM Events for Week of May 12, 2014

0

STEM-calendarSTEM events for Women happening this week of May 12, 2014…

Tuesday May 13

Wednesday May 14

Saturday May 17

Saturday May 17  – Tuesday May 20

Have a STEM event you’d like us to feature?  Please submit it.

STEM Events for Week of April 28, 2014

0

STEM-calendarSTEM events for Women happening this week of April 28, 2014….

Friday, April 25 – Saturday, May 3

Tuesday, April 29

Wednesday, April 30

Wednesday, April 30 – Sunday, May 4

Sunday, May 4

Sunday, May 4 – Tuesday, May 6

Have a STEM event you’d like us to feature?  Please submit it.

STEM Events for Week of April 7, 2014

0

STEM-calendarSTEM events for Women happening this week of April 7, 2014….

Tuesday, April 8 – Saturday, April 12

Wednesday, April 9

Thursday, April 10

Saturday, April 12

Have a STEM event you’d like us to feature?  Please submit it.

Women in STEM Events for Week of February 10, 2014

0

STEM-calendarSTEM events for Women happening this week of February 10, 2014…

Tuesday, February 11

Thursday, February 13

Saturday, February 15

Saturday, February 15 – Saturday, February 22

Sunday, February 16 – Saturday, February 22

 

Have a STEM event you’d like us to feature?  Please submit it.